DIY Almond butter

When I decided to change my lifestyle and start researching about how to life a healthier and more energetic life, almond butter was an item that came across many tips and snack suggestions. Why almond butter? Because almond is one of the worlds supperfoods!

Almonds - Image from the internet

Almonds – Image from the internet

After some unsuccessful trips to supermarkets here in Munich, I came to understand that almond butter has not yet, found its market niche in this region. Nothing to worry about, if I can’t buy it, I can always DIY!

I’ve tried making almond butter raw and toasted, and by far, I prefer the roasted one. If you feel like it’s way too much to include the roasting process, it’s perfectly ok, as suits you better!

So, what do you need:

1 cup of raw almonds

Almond butter DIY

Almond butter DIY

How you do it:

1 – Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C (ah, Europe!).

2 – Spread the almonds on a baking sheet and roast for 15 minutes. (You will notice when they are done as soon as you start to feel the delicious scent of toasted almonds all you’re your kitchen)

3 – Pour the roasted almonds in a food processor and let it run for about 5-10 minutes or until desired smoothness (to avoid over-heating the food processor, I strongly suggest pause 1 minute for every 4 minutes working)

Transfer the butter to a previously sterilized container and store it in the fridge.

Suggestions with almond butter:

Breakfast

Add 1 tsp to your oatmeal breakfast

Snack

Slice 1 apple, remove the core and spread 1 tsp of almond butter – Great for a pre-workout snack!

Spread 1 tsp almond butter on celery stalks.

Did you looove this tip? I am sure you will also love all the other incredibly healthy recipes and tips I shared here for you! Be sure to subscribe to my newsletter and you will never miss an update!

I would love to hear from you! Do you usually eat almond butter? Do you DIY your own almond butter or you buy it? Which benefits have you noticed in yourself since you started to incorporate almonds in your diet? You can use the comments bellow and share your experience, ideas, recipes ,tips or suggestions. Share the love!  

stay healthy, stay beautiful

xoxo

One thought on “DIY Almond butter

  1. Pingback: DIY brown sugar scrub | hedonism, health and fitness

would love to know from you!