Paleo Almond Pancakes

Weekend, at last!

I am über excited, the weather is finally getting warmer (according to Portuguese standards, naturally) and I can’t wait to start biking, hiking or just strolling along the river. yeah!

I “made” almond flour yesterday, and decided to try a 100% paleo recipe. Will I succeed?
Not bad at all, must say! I was somehow afraid that without the yogurt it would turn too dry, but the almond milk made it deliciously moisty! They turned out a bit darker, but it’s due to the almond flour and milk (as I do it at home, don’t filter everything), but that just added to the flavour, which was amazing!

Delicious topped with redberries

I topped mine with red berries, and it was delicious!

Yield 4

Ingredients

  • 4 whole eggs or egg whites*1
  • 12 tablespoons of almond flour*2 (easy DIY almond flour here or you can use the almond meal, l from almond milk DIY)
  • 1 1/2 cup of almond milk (DIY Almond milk recipe here)
  • 2 tsp chia seeds (optional)
  • 4 drops of Vanilla essence
  • 1 tsp olive oil
Just the right amount of moistness!

Very healthy and completely gluten and lactose free!

Preparation

  1. In a bowl, whisk the eggs yolks, add the vanilla essence, and 1 cup of almond milk, reserve the ½ cup for later, and keep whisking until the mixture is smooth.
  2. Add the almond flour and the chia seeds and keep whisking until you have a liquid and smooth batter – If necessary, add the ½ cup almond milk you have previously reserved.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites with a mixer at high-speed until stiff peaks form. Gently stir egg whites into the mixture. *3
  4. Pour 1 tsp olive oil into non-stick pan and wipe it out with paper towel – Since I learnt this trick my cooking has become lighter.
  5. Pour in ¼ th of the mix and cook the pancake on medium heat until golden brown on both sides (about 3 minutes per side)
  6. Repeat step 3 to cook the rest.
They were really delicious!

Everyone was happy!

*1 I was in doubt if eggs are part of a paleo diet, therefore I did a small research “Eat meats and eggs freely, but in order to mimic our ancestors best, eat these products from animals that were grass-fed/pasture raised. At the least, steer clear of meats with preservatives and color or flavor enhancers, particularly added nitrites, as they can be pretty toxic.” Source: Paleo Plan

*2 Almond flour is much heavier than other baking flours, so when using, go 1/4 cup at a time (so 1 cup wheat flour would become 3/4 cup wheat flour and 1/4 cup almond flour). Or, increase the amount of rising agent (by about 1/2 teaspoon per cup of almond flour added) to account for the extra weight. – Healthy Food Substitutions

*3 – I usually use this technique whenever I cook more than 2 pancakes. For two reasons (and they are unrelated), first, because by adding the stiff egg whites into the batter will result in a fluffier, lighter pancake, and I love it, second, because it’s a time-consuming task, I only find it worthy when I am cooking in batch.

 

Did you looove this recipe? I am sure you will also love all the other incredibly healthy recipes and tips I shared here for you! Be sure to follow the blog and you will never miss an update!

I would love to hear from you! Do you also love a splurging breakfast? Do you follow a Paleo diet?  Have you ever tried a paleo reicipe?  You can use the comments bellow and share your experience, ideas, recipes ,tips or suggestions.

Share the love!  

stay healthy, stay beautiful

xoxosignature

2 thoughts on “Paleo Almond Pancakes

would love to know from you!